Te Arawa Group Holdings

We have appointed representatives to the TAGH Board of Directors who provide stable and visionary leadership to the Company.”From a Governance perspective, we have appointed representatives to the TAGH Board of Directors who provide stable and visionary leadership to the Company.

Director Attributes:

• Confidence in commercial context, relevant knowledge & experience
• Competent leadership, representation, and influence
• Provide high level of business intelligence
• Robust investigations & sound analysis

Director’s Profile

The appointments of the Directors are confirmed by TPT. We presently have 5 Directors, 2 are current trustees of TPT, and 3 independent Directors.

    Dr Andrew West


    Dr Andrew West
    Dr West was appointed to the Te Arawa Group Holdings Ltd Board as an independent director in 2010 and reappointed for a second term in 2014. He was elected as TAGH’s Chairman in 2015.

    Dr West is formerly Vice Chancellor of Lincoln University, CEO of New Zealand’s largest Crown Research Institute (AgReseach Ltd) and CEO of Geological & Nuclear Sciences Ltd.

    Dr West has an extensive commercial network across New Zealand and comprehensive experience in the primary industries and central and local government, in particular in science and technology and in tertiary education.

    Directorships and Trusteeships

    • Chairman – Te Arawa Geothermal Ltd
    • Chairman – Maungaharuru Tangitu Trust Ltd
    • Chairman – Dairy SolutioNZ Ltd

    • Director – Innovation Waikato Ltd
    • Director – Wallace Corporation Ltd
    • Director – Tidal Associates Ltd

    Eru George


    Eru George
    Eru was the Inaugural Chairman of Te Pumautanga o Te Arawa (TPT), the Parent body of Te Arawa Group Holdings Ltd. Eru was appointed to the TAGH Board in 2010 as a TPT Representative, and reappointed for a second term in 2014.

    Eru’s leadership was instrumental in navigating the Affiliate Te Arawa Iwi/hapu through treaty settlement negotiations as Chairman of Nga Kaihautu o Te Arawa and its transition to Te Pumautanga o Te Arawa.

    Eru is Pou Herenga with Lakes District Health Board, a position he has held since the establishment of the District Health Boards in 2000. He provides high level mana whenua advice to the board, CEO, executive, management and staff of Rotorua Hospital.

    Directorships and Trusteeships
    • Chairman – Te Rūnanga o Ngāti Kearoa Ngāti Tuara
    • Trustee – Te Pumautanga o Te Arawa Trust
    • Trustee – Te Arawa River Iwi Trust
    • Trustee – Paiaka Lands Trust

    Ian Boyd


    Ian was appointed to the Te Arawa Group Holdings Ltd Board as an independent director in April 2017.

    Ian has significant forest industry technical and leadership experience having been involved in the industry for over 30 years and was COO and CEO of Fletcher Challenge Forests. Ian also has in-depth international commercial experience having managed Fletcher Challenge assets (as CEO) in Chile and Brazil. Furthermore, Ian was CEO for the Ontario Teachers’ Pension Plan (OTPP) in NZ/Australia, for forestry and agricultural investment. This includes oversight of investment management in NZ and OTPP is one of the world’s largest Pension Plans with a current return on investment of 13% and net assets valued at over $171 billion.

    In excess of 10 years accumulated experience in the agriculture/horticulture sector having been Managing Director of Wrightson and GM of Zespri Global Supply.

    Previous CEO of TAGH from October 2013 to April 2015. During Ian’s tenure TAGH total group assets grew 12.4%, with a return on assets of 9% per annum. As past CEO he is fully conversant with TAGH’s values and objectives.

    Strong local knowledge of the Rotorua region and people, having lived and worked there on a number of occasions during the past 40 years.

    Directorships and Trusteeships

    • Director – Distribution Companies (USA)
    • Chair – Australian Horticultural Investment
    • Director – Rotorua Contracting Company (CCO)

    Geoff Rice


    Geoff Rice Geoff was appointed to the Te Arawa Group Holdings Ltd Board as a TPT representative in 2015, and is a trustee on Ngati Tura Ngati Te Ngakau Hapu Trust.

    Geoff has extensive commercial and governance experience. He is the Managing Director of Gold Coast Investments, Waikanae Finance Lending, and CPM Kiwi, and has a commercial background in property, retail ownership, lending and agribusiness.

    Directorships and Trusteeships

    • Chairman – Tia Marae Committee
    • Chairman – Tokerau A14A2 Trust
    • Trustee – Tapuika Iwi Authority BOT Ki Waho Rep Central – Lower North Island

    • Trustee – Ngati Tura Ngati Te Ngakau Hapu Trust
    • Trustee – Te Pumautanga o Te Arawa Trust
    • Executive Member – FOMA Rotorua

    Hamish Bell


    Hamish Bell Hamish was appointed to the Te Arawa Group Holdings Ltd Board as an Independent Director in 2015.

    Hamish has extensive experience in finance, international markets, investor relations and advisory panels. He is currently a professional director and specialist advisor to large privately owned businesses across New Zealand.

    Hamish has gained wide-ranging experience throughout his 25 year career in New Zealand and Asia. He returned to New Zealand in 2004 after 8 years in Asia, having held senior roles in private equity with 3i, Europe’s largest private equity firm and with Weber Shandwick, the world’s largest public and investor relations consultancy.

    Directorships and Trusteeships

    • Independent Chairman – Pederson Group Limited
    • Independent Chairman – Greenstone Group NZ Limited
    • Independent Director – Ritchies Transport Holdings Limited
    • Independent Director – Aotea Security (NZ) Limited

    • Member (Advisory Board) – Intergroup Limited
    • Independent Director – Boffa Miskell Limited
    • Director – Catalyst Advisory Partners Limited
    • Member – Institute of Directors